OFF TO THE DESERT

OFF TO THE DESERT

After the loud, glaring and unreal Las Vegas we are happy to return to the wonderful nature outside of this gambler’s paradise in the middle of the desert. Not far away is the “Valley of Fire”, an area that truly deserves this name. The rocks shine in all imaginable colors and we use the light of the setting sun up to the last minute and walk back to our car in the dark. Even the silence at night is a huge contrast to the city noise of the last couple of days.

VALLEY OF DEATH

The next day the thermometer rises to well over 30 ° Celsius while driving and there is almost no vegetation anymore. We are on our way to Death Valley, one of the driest places on earth! Due to the extreme heat in summer months, rental cars are not allowed to drive in this area, as they might overheat. A few of the burned-out vehicles to the left and right of the road bear witness to this circumstance.

During the day we spend the hot hours soaking in a swimming pool which we surprisingly found at the campsite and we truly welcome this cooling off from the heat. The water originates from an underground river that surfaces here in the middle of the desert. It’s also the first night on our trip in our rolling one-bedroom-apartment so far with tropical temperatures …

Early morning and late in the evening, when the sun is not burning too fierce from the sky, we explore the bizarre world of stone, sand and salt. For the first time in our lives, we are below sea level and have neither a scuba tank on our back nor do we wear mask & snorkel. 😊 The Death Valley is one of the very few places in the world where that is even possible.

And who would have thought that at the end of this valley we suddenly come across huge sand dunes? We park our car at their edge, explore them on foot and feel transported to Morocco… It is really an extraordinary landscape in this valley of death.

ALPINE WORLD

Our journey continues westwards towards the Sierra Nevada, more specifically to the “Alabama Hills”. We spend the night in the middle of an unreal world of rocks and have a first glimpse of the mighty mountain range that the Sierra is. It is a climbers’ and hikers’ paradise at the foot of these mountains and while hiking we feel for the first time again since we left the Rocky Mountains in Canada reminiscent of the Swiss Alps. At the top of some summits there is even a hint of snow.

In some places, hot springs gush out of the earth and we camp more than once right next to one of these natural bathtubs. Until late at night we pamper ourselves with the warm water and relax our tired muscles before we disappear in our cozy home. Although we are not far away from the hot Death Valley, it gets cold here at night and we are happy to have our diesel heating…

MONO LAKE

As we keep on exploring along the Eastern Sierra Nevada, we come across another peculiarity: a large lake with high pH-value and salinity, which unfortunately is slowly drying up. Decades of mismanagement of the water distribution for the metropolitan area of Los Angeles lead to a sinking water level of the Mono Lake and despite increased efforts in recent years, the process seems to be unstoppable. It though reveals to the visitor bizarre tuff formations which on days without wind reflect nicely on the lake.

It seems almost impossible, but we’re kind of running out of time… Winter is approaching in these latitudes and the 3’030-meter-high Tioga pass, which leads us over the Sierra Nevada to Yosemite National Park, can be closed any time now. In the next few days snow is forecasted and so we set out to cross this huge mountain range before that.

AB DURCH DIE WÜSTE

AB DURCH DIE WÜSTE

Nach dem lauten, grellen und unwirklichen Las Vegas sind wir froh zurück in die wunderbare Natur ausserhalb des Wüsten-Spielerparadieses zu fahren. Nicht weit entfernt befindet sich das «Valley of Fire», eine Gegend die diesen Namen in der Tat verdient. Die Felsen leuchten in allen nur erdenklichen Farben und wir nutzen das Licht der untergehenden Sonne bis zur letzten Minute und wandern erst im Dunkeln zurück zum Auto. Auch die Ruhe in der Nacht ist ein riesiger Kontrast zum Stadt-Lärm der letzten Tage

TAL DES TODES

Am nächsten Tag steigt das Thermometer während der Fahrt auf weit über 30° Celsius und Vegetation gibt es fast keine mehr. Wir fahren ins Death Valley, einer der trockensten Gegenden dieser Welt! Wegen der grossen Hitze ist es Mietautos in den Sommermonaten nicht gestattet diese Gegend zu besuchen, da diese bei der Anfahrt oder Weiterfahrt überhitzen und auf der Strecke liegen bleiben. Ein paar der ausgebrannten Fahrzeuge links und rechts der Strasse zeugen davon.

Tagsüber verbringen wir die heissen Stunden an einem Swimmingpool den es hier erstaunlicherweise auf einem Campingplatze gibt und geniessen bei der Hitze diese willkommene Abkühlung. Das Wasser stammt aus einem Untergrund-Fluss der hier an die Oberfläche tritt. Es ist dann auch die erste Nacht auf unserer Reise im rollenden Einzimmerapartment mit tropischen Temperaturen…

Früh morgens und spät abends, wenn die Sonne nicht allzu sehr vom Himmel brennt, erkunden wir die bizarre Welt aus Stein, Sand und Salz. Zum ersten Mal in unserem Leben befinden wir uns unterhalb des Meeresspiegels und haben weder Sauerstoff-Flasche auf dem Rücken noch Maske & Schnorchel aufgesetzt. 😊 Das Death Valley ist einer der wenigen Orte auf der Welt an dem das möglich ist.

Und wer hätte gedacht, dass wir am Ende des Tales plötzlich auf riesige Sanddünen stossen? Wir parken unser Auto am Rande, erkunden diese zu Fuss und fühlen uns nach Marokko versetzt… Es ist wirklich eine aussergewöhnliche Landschaft in diesem Tal des Todes.

 BERGWELTEN

Unsere Reise führt uns weiter Richtung Westen zur Sierra Nevada, genauer gesagt in die «Alabama Hills». Hier übernachten wir mitten in einer unwirklichen Felsenwelt und haben aus der Ferne einen ersten Blick auf die mächtige Bergkette der Sierra. Es ist ein Kletter- und Wanderparadies am Fusse dieser Berge und beim Wandern fühlen wir uns erstmals seit den Rocky Mountains in Kanada wieder an die Schweizer Alpen erinnert. Weit oben auf einigen Gipfel liegt sogar bereits ein erster Hauch von Schnee.

 

Mancherorts sprudeln heisse Quellen aus der Erde und wir campen mehr als einmal direkt neben einer dieser natürlichen Badewannen. Bis spät in die Nacht lassen wir uns vom warmen Wasser verwöhnen und entspannen unsere müden Muskeln bevor wir schnellstens unter unseren Bettdecken verschwinden. Obwohl wir nicht wirklich weit vom heissen Dead Valley entfernt sind, wird es hier in der Nacht schon wieder empfindlich kalt und wir sind froh über unsere Dieselstandheizung…

MONO LAKE

Bei unserer Erkundungstour entlang der Sierra Nevada stossen wir auf eine weitere Besonderheit: ein grosser See mit hohem pH- und Salzgehalt der leider langsam am austrocken ist. Jahrzehntelange Misswirtschaft der Wasserverteilung für den Grossraum von Los Angeles führt zu einem sinkenden Wasserspiegel des Mono Lakes und trotz verstärkten Anstrengungen der letzten Jahre ist der Prozess kaum zu stoppen. Für den Besucher enthüllen sich dadurch skurrile Tuffstein-Formationen die sich an windstillen Tagen toll im See spiegeln.

Eigentlich fast unmöglich, aber die Zeit rennt uns langsam davon… Der Winter naht in diesen Breiten und der 3’030 Meter hohe Tioga-Pass, der uns über die Sierra Nevada in den Yosemite Nationalpark bringt, kann jederzeit gesperrt werden. In den nächsten Tagen ist Schnee vorhergesagt und so machen wir uns auf, diese riesige Bergkette zu überqueren.